The administration of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is facilitated by geographic areas.  Areas are overseen by an area president and two counselors, who are usually members of the Quorums of the Seventy and live in their assigned areas.

Under the direction of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, area presidencies provide spiritual and administrative direction to the leaders and members of the Church in their areas.

There are currently 22 areas:

  • Utah 
  • North America Central
  • North America Northeast
  • North America Southeast
  • North America Southwest
  • North America West
  • Mexico
  • Central America
  • Caribbean
  • Brazil
  • South America Northwest
  • South America South
  • Middle East/Africa North
  • Europe
  • Europe East
  • Asia
  • Asia North
  • Africa Central
  • Africa South
  • Africa West
  • Philippines
  • Pacific

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.