Relief Society Presidency

The general presidency of the Relief Society serves under the direction of the Church's First Presidency. Sister ​Jean B. Bingham is the current Relief Society president. Her counselors are Sister Sharon Eubank and Sister Reyna I. Aburto. They have been serving since April 2017.


Within the structure of the Church, women have opportunities to be leaders, give sermons during worship services and offer congregational prayers. They take an active role in the Church's welfare program by teaching self-reliance principles and helping resolve individual temporary and long-term needs. Joseph Smith explained the purpose of the Relief Society was "relief of the poor, the destitute, the widow and the orphan, and for the exercise of all benevolent purposes."

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.